Meat Free May

tumblr_mpf1gkh7G11snzouqo1_500

For the past 5 or six years I have wanted to try being vegetarian, but with being in high school and then living in a catered residence for the past 2 years I always had the excuse that becoming vegetarian would be difficult because I don’t cook for myself (clearly I wasn’t that serious about it.

But this year I moved into an apartment and I realised that now that I cook for myself I haven’t had the time to make sure that I get my 5 servings of fruit and veg a day and I can tell that it is affecting my health.

So I figured that the month of May (My birthday month) would be the best time for me to try this vegetarian thing out because I now cook for myself, so that’s not a valid excuse anymore and I need to increase the amount of fruit and veg that I consume before I end up with some vitamin deficiencies. I’m calling it #MeatFreeMay

Having given up meat for lent before I know that this is something I can do from previous experiences I know that the first week is the most difficult for me and then after that I feel like I don’t even need meat anymore.

But this time because I am cooking for myself and because uni is so busy at the moment I need to plan my meals out to make meal prep easier and so I don’t end up eating the same thing(s) over and over again.

Obviously I will be taking you guys on this journey with me. The first step will be planning the meals for the month and sharing that plan with you, obviously what I put in that plan will not be set in stone because I do like to experiment with cooking and creating new recipes will give e things to share with you guys.

Step two will be me journaling this experience and then I will share a summarised version of what I ate that week and how the journey’s going.

If any of you are vegetarian or vegan and have any tips for me on how to transition please do let me know. And if any of you would like to join me on this journey please let me know too and we can share our experiences and support each other through #MeatFreeMay.

Beauty and Splendour,

Siphi

Leave a Reply

